California’s Workers Compensation system is designed to provide rights and benefits to injured workers. A workers compensation attorney representing an injured worker advocates for and ensures that these rights are provided to their client. Included on this site is some basic information regarding the California Workers’ Compensation system. If you have more specific questions or would like to discuss your workers’ compensation case, contact our office.
Common Workers’ Compensation Questions :
What is Workers’ Compensation?
- Medical care benefits – medical treatment to help recover from work injury
- Temporary Disability benefits – wage replacement benefits for lost wages
- Permanent Disability benefits – payments if you are unable to achieve a full recovery
- Supplemental Job Displacement benefits – job skills retraining voucher
- Death Benefits – payments to a spouse, the deceased workers children, or other dependents
What is the process for filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
- Report the accident and injury to your manager as soon as possible.
- Complete a DWC-1 claim form and submit it to your employer. Your employer will most likely provide you with this form along with other forms for reporting the accident/injury.
- Go to the doctor immediately for medical treatment as well as to receive an evaluation of the extent of your injury.
- Once you have completed the necessary forms, the Employer’s Workers ’ Compensation Insurance Company has up to 90 days to either approve or deny an injured worker’s claim.
*If you claim is denied it is strongly advised that you consult with a workers compensation attorney to provide legal help in an appeal of the Insurance Companies’ denial of your claim. Contact our office now for a free consultation.
Do I need to seek legal representation from a workers compensation attorney?
Does it matter who is at fault of the injury?
Can my Employer fire me if I file a Worker’s Compensation Claim?
Can an Employer refuse to hire me because I filed a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
What is the cost or fees to hire an attorney to handle my workers’ compensation case?
WARNING : Making a false or fraudulent workers’ compensation claim is a felony subject to up to 5 years in prison or a fine of up to $50,000 or double the value of the fraud, whichever is greater, or by both imprisonment and fine.